BOB Strollers

Once upon a time, before I had a baby and before I tried to run with a stroller, I did not buy a BOB stroller. For those not in the know, while there are many jogging strollers out there, for the last decade the preferred stroller for actually running is the BOB. These strollers are also rather expensive, new they’re often between $350 and $400 for a single stroller, over $500 for a double stroller, and that is without accessories like cup holders and car seat adapters and weather covers. I’d say insanely expensive, although I now realize they are an investment and likely worth the money.

I instead bought a Graco jogging stroller that fit our infant car seat. It was much cheaper and I can see why now. There were many things this stroller did not do as well as a BOB. The sun shade covered much less. It was heavier. It was longer which does fit a bigger child better, but meant it did not turn as well. The seat was farther forward which makes it not push as nicely as the BOB. I did love the large underseat basket though, as for a time I used the Graco stroller for on foot grocery store trips.

img_66775424516771391470196.jpg

I was gifted a fixed wheel BOB stroller a few years ago. It’s 10 years old, but in good shape. Fixed wheel meaning that the front wheel does not rotate, making it not useful for much besides running. That first time running with that old BOB though I understood why people liked them. They do push nice for many reasons, good tires, lightweight frame, good shocks, but mostly the seat is far enough back to be over the back wheels. Me, my daughter, and that stroller did a lot of miles together. It was not perfect or new or snazzy. But at the time it was what I likely needed to make stroller running a bit easier.

I knew that if I got a double jogging stroller it would be a BOB. However, I was only going to be using one for maybe 2 years before C would be in school, so I did not really want to pay the $500 for a new one. So I went in search of a used one. Mind you a used double BOB still sells for usually between $200 to $450, depending on age, wear and accessories. I lucked into a much older and worn one for $125 with the exact older car seat adapter I needed. So far me and my littles have put a lot of mileage on that stroller. It’s a beast, as any double jogging stroller is. But if you are going to insanely run pushing a stroller it is good that it’s one that pushes as well as possible. I’d say it is also lightweight, but double jogging strollers do not really come in lightweight or easy to store, then you add kid poundage. Sigh.

Last year I found a used single revolution BOB for $75. This means the front wheel rotates. I love my fixed wheel BOB but it is not the best to walk with and I would not be taking it anywhere but a trail or sidewalk. So far me and my little guy have logged good mileage with it while big sister is in preschool, and with half marathon training I’m sure we’ll log a butch more. While I was not actively looking for a new stroller this came up and was too much of a deal to pass up. It’s an older model but the stroller has almost no wear, the worst being on the handlebar likely from storage. The wheels looked like they had never even seen dirt or gravel, which I quickly remedied. I’m sure it will easily last until R is out of a stroller and I may even be able to sell it after using it.

Now there are a few other options out there that are comparable to the BOB, and stroller runners who like them as much as or even more than BOB strollers. Besides how easy they are to run with, BOBs are built pretty tough. My older BOBs mentioned above are all at least 10 years old. The straps have some wear, especially on my double stroller, but overall everything is in working condition. So, while a new BOB is an investment, if you will seriously be running with it and for several years, that money is likely worth it, especially if you find one on sale or discounted. The resale value of BOBs is pretty good as they do stand up to abuse and are built to last. (Really the fact they are build to last 10 years is likely why they cost so much new.) Had I been using a double stroller for more than 2 years I may have bought one new on sale.

The moral here, if you are going to run with a stroller, do something good for yourself and buy a good stroller to run with, even if you buy that stroller used. The extra money will be worth it.

** I was not at all paid or given anything by BOB Gear for this endorsement. **

 

Leave a comment